Discover Your Island

International Education Committee (IEC)

Purpose or Function:The International Education Committee shall serve in an advisory role to the Office of International Education (OIE). The Committee will promote the educational mission of the University, especially as it relates to the University's Strategic Plan. IEC will bring awareness around the campus for the international programs, review and evaluate OIE’s priorities and will identify and make recommendations on how to best integrate international and domestic students, expand study abroad opportunities, and internationalize the University and –by extension-the community.

Membership:The Committee includes, one representative from ESLI, one Student Government Association representative, one University Council of Student Organizations representative, one International Student Organization representative, one Graduate Council representative, one faculty member from each of the five Colleges to be appointed by the dean of that college, one representative from the Staff Council, and one World Affairs Council of South Texas representative. The Provost, Associate Provost, Registrar, and OIE Director are continuing appointments.

Members will normally serve two-year staggered renewable terms.  Representatives of student organizations will serve one-year renewable terms. ESLI, ISO, SGA, UCSO, Staff Council, and Graduate Council will appoint their respective representatives.  The main criteria for their participation in the IEC shall be that they be genuinely interested in internationalization of the campus. The IEC shall annually elect a Chair and a Vice Chair.

Chair: Elected by the Committee

Responsible University Official: Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs




Zeidan, Rabih

College of Business Faculty Representative

May - 2020

Pierce, Carrie

College of Liberal Arts Faculty Representative

May - 2020

Zeng, Guang

College of Education & Human Development Faculty Representative

May - 2020

Phillips, Clarenda

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs


Sanford, Amy Aldridge

Associate Provost


Chapa, Melissa

University Registrar


Yu, Derek

Director, Office of International Education


Ibrahimov, Alimursal

International Student Organization Representative

May - 2020

Mollick, Joseph

Graduate Council Representative

May - 2019

Shaver, Leigh

College of Nursing & Health Sciences Faculty Representative

May - 2020

Profitt, Ed

College of Science & Engineering Faculty Representative

May - 2021


Staff Council Representative

May - 2019

Fatima, Laraib

Student Government Representative

May - 2020

Johnson, Kaity

UCSO Representative

May - 2019

Beckman, Gerald

World Affairs Council Representative

May - 2021

Last Updated: 10/10/2019